Lafayette Youth Poetry Prize

Lafayette Youth Poetry Prize

The Lafayette Youth Poetry Prize Reading has become a wonderful tradition in Lafayette.  We were disappointed that we were unable to hold the event this year. The Lafayette Cultural Arts Commission and ARTS!Lafayette are proud to present 2020 Lafayette Youth Poetry Prize Winners:

Grades K – 2
1st Place   Dominic Wilson   Hungry Alien Invasion
2nd Place  Linnea Peterson    Kind Time

Grades 3 - 4
1st Place       Lucas Connally    Crazy Thinking
2nd Place     Gwyneth Knight   I Come From
3rd Place      Paige VanderWeit Volleyball
Honorable Mention Aliah Gonzalez  Rainbow
Honorable Mention Aliah Gonzalez  Flower
Honorable Mention Alessandra Wilson Sugar and Spice

Grades 5 – 7
1st Place              Henry Gabriel    Hollow Grottos
2nd Place (tie)     Abigail Aguirre Garcia    Beautiful Seasons
2nd Place  (tie)    Cydney Moore   Foxes
Honorable Mention Aiden Byers   Just Like Snow
Honorable Mention Aiden Byers Sometimes
Honorable Mention Zoe Wright The Mountain is Calling
Honorable Mention Zoe Wright My Friday

Congratulations to these talented young poets! We admire your ability to express yourselves through this very special literary art.

A note about Michael Adams: 

Michael Adams was a founding board member of ARTS!Lafayette and longtime member and chair of Lafayette Cultural Arts Commission as well as a talented poet. He had a passion for poetry, the arts and community. He was an intelligent, thoughtful and guiding force for many. He had a huge heart and was a stellar volunteer. He lost his life to cancer in September 2013; this contest is held in his honor.