City Council

City Council Group photo November 2018
(back row l-r): City Attorney David Williamson, Alexandra Lynch, Merrily Mazza, Stephanie Walton, JD Mangat, City Administrator Gary Klaphake (front row l-r):  Chelsea Behanna, Mayor Christine Berg, Mayor Pro Tem Jamie Harkins


The Lafayette City Council serves as the community's legislative body, enacting ordinances, appropriating funds to conduct city business, and providing policy direction for city governance through the city administrator. 


Email City Council or a Member

CONTACT City Council


  1. Agendas & Minutes
  2. Members
  3. Resources

Agenda and minutes are available prior to the meetings. Draft minutes are also available.

Council Goals header - coming soon graphic

About the Lafayette City Council

The Council consists of seven members who are elected on a non-partisan basis in odd-numbered years. Terms are staggered so the Council always consists of experienced members.Four seats must be filled each election year. The three councilors with the highest number of votes serve four-year terms and the fourth receives a two-year term. 


The mayor and mayor pro-tem are selected by the City Council for two-year terms. Under provisions of the Lafayette City Charter, council has the power to appoint the city administrator, city attorney, municipal court judge, city treasurer, and chief of police.